Magic Dance 85

O’s Notes: Reed master Greg Abate celebrates the music of the legendary pianist Kenny Barron with Kenny Barron on piano, Dezron Douglas (b) and Johnathan Blake (d). This songbook is 14 of Kenny’s best compositions over two discs. There’s a jovial groove that swings on “Cooks Bay” with Greg varying the mood shifting from sax to flute. There is sweet sax harmony on “Innocence”, passion on “Rain” and a hard swing on “Voyage”, just a few of the highlights.
D. Oscar  Groomes
O’s Place Jazz Magazine

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This